BRX009: Slovo - Being You

Slovo - Being You



Slovo is the creation of writer, producer and Faithless guitarist Dave Randall. The band's first album Nommo won critical acclaim for its haunting acoustic melodies, trip-hop soundscapes, international voices and political narratives. Their second album Todo Cambia came in 2007 with unique contributions from UK hiphop MC Bobby Whiskers, singers Andrea Britton, Emiliana Torrini and Rhianna Kenny, writer Arundhati Roy, Bolivian activist Oscar Olivera, Palestinian MC Boikutt and US political prisoner George Jackson among others. For Tom Robinson (BBC 6Music) it was his Album Of The Year.

With a sound rooted in Slovo’s native London, the album continued to explore the questions presented by the wider world with an uncompromising and personal, honest and contemplative stance. The album’s title comes from a phrase Dave first heard used as a declaration of hope amongst the poor of Caracas. The idea that "everything changes" has fired the imagination of people across Latin America who have started to challenge age-old systems of privilege in the workplace, wider community and at the ballot box.

Now, before starting to work on their third album, Slovo have reworked the outstanding Being You from Todo Cambia, taking the original vocal by Rhianna Kenny onto a new, fuller backing track, thus turning it into a more radio-friendly pop song. The B-Side Many People comes in its original form (Almost... Three words have been carefully removed), with vocals by Andrea Britton and rap by the brilliant MC Bobby Whiskers.


Written by David Randall
Produced by David Randall and Andy Marlow
Published by Universal Music Publishing
(P)(C) 2009 Brixtown Records (Musiqware Ltd)
Distributed by Musiqware Ltd


Download [BRX009]

  1. Being You (New Version)
  2. Many People (Clean Version)

Download Stores: